News - Match - Player

Digvijay highest seeded Indian at ITF Davanagere WTT.

Digvijay highest seeded Indian at ITF Davanagere WTT

Davangere, 23 October, 2023   

 Ramkumar Ramanathan, who grabbed the Dharwad Men’s World Tennis Tour title on Sunday, would be keen to sustain his winning ways as contends in the ITF Davanagere Men’s World Tennis Tour, the main round of which, begins at the District Tennis Association Davanagere courts which begins here from Tuesday.

Irrespective of Ramkumar’s win, the 28-year-old begins the tournament with the tag of ‘unseeded’ player. Nick Chappell of the USA has been given the top billing in a strong field that will compete for a total prize purse of US $ 15,000. Bogdan Bobrov is seeded second while Digvijay Pratap Singh is the highest seeded Indian at No.3. Florent Bax of France is seeded fourth while Sidharth Rawat is seeded fifth. SD Prajwal Dev, Rishab Agarwal and Niki Poonacha bring up the rear of the top eight seeds respectively.

The winner of the singles title will earn US$ 2160 and 15 ATP points while the runner up will be richer by US $ 1272 and eight ATP points.

Manish Ganesh, Suraj Prabodh, Ranjeet Virali-Murugesan and Ajay Malik were handed over the wildcards for the main draw.

Meanwhile, eight qualifiers made it to the main draw including the top seed Atharva Sharma who registered a 7-6 (5), 6-3 win over Matthew Woerndle of Australia. Unseeded Adil Kalyanpur caused a flutter when he overcame third seeded Chirag Duhan 6-7 (3), 6-1, 15-13 in a battle that lasted for more than two hours. In another interesting duel, Tushar Madan scored a 3-6, 7-6 (10), 11-9 victory over seventh seed 7-Shivank Bhatnagar in 1 hour 56 minutes.

The Seedings: 1-Nick Chappel (USA); 2-Bogdan Bobrov; 3-Digvijay Pratap Singh; 4-Florent Bax (FRA); 5-Sidharth Rawat; 6-SD Prajwal Dev; 7-Rishab Agarwal; 8-Niki Kaliyanda Poonacha.


Qualifying Round-2 (Seeds in parenthesis, Country except India mentioned in brackets)

1-Atharva Sharma bt 11-Matthew Woerndle (AUS) 7-6 (5), 6-3; 2-Raghav Jaisinghani bt 10-Jagmeet Singh 6-3, 6-3; WC-Adil Kalyanpur bt 3-Chirag Duhan 6-7 (3), 6-1, 15-13; 5-Kabir Hans bt 13-Parth Aggarwal 6-2, 6-2; 6-Madhwin Kamath bt 9-Sandesh Dattatray Kurale 6-3, 6-1; 16-Tushar Madan bt 7-Shivank Bhatnagar 3-6, 7-6 (10), 11-9; 8-Rohan Mehra bt 15-Arjun Mahadevan 6-3, 6-4; 4-Sai Karteek Reddy Ganta bt 12-Yash Chaurasia 7-6 (8), 6-3.

Latest News

Bengaluru Open 2024: India’s Sumit Nagal continues strong run to reach singles semifinals

India’s Sumit Nagal stayed on course for a back-to-back ATP Challenger crown as he got the better of Adam Walton in straight sets in the quarterfinals of the DafaNews...


India’s Ramkumar upsets top seed Nardi to reach quarter-finals at DafaNews Bengaluru Open 2024

India’s Ramkumar Ramanathan fought back impressively after losing the opening set to upset top seed Luca Nardi of Italy to reach the singles quarter-finals of the DafaNews...


India’s Sumit Nagal makes strong start at DafaNews Bengaluru Open 2024

Home favourite Sumit Nagal made a dominating start to his DafaNews Bengaluru Open 2024 campaign with a comfortable straight set win...



Sumit Nagal, who made his presence felt at the Australian Open by knocking out world number 27 Alexander Bublik, will present a strong Indian challenge at the DafaNews Bengaluru...